Wednesday, December 24, 2014

Discern (Katon University #1) by Andrea Pearson (Review)

Nicole Williams is an Arete—a fourth child with magical abilities—yet no matter how hard she tries, she can’t Channel her power. In fact, she seems to be the only student at Katon University who fails at magic.

That doesn’t stop magic from finding her. It starts with possessed books and cursed spiders before moving quickly to freaky shadows and magical currents. Nicole turns to her best friend for help, along with fellow student Austin Young, who is considered by all a magical rarity. He also happens to be the hottest guy on campus and just might be interested in her.

Nicole soon finds herself competing to be included on a university-led expedition to Arches National Park. She is determined to show everyone, but mostly herself, that she does belong. Yet, to qualify for the trip, she must produce at least a speck of Wind magic, and that appears to be impossible.

As the competition progresses, Nicole wonders if she’s making the right choice—especially when she learns that the strange fossils they’ll be studying in Arches might not be as dead as everyone thinks.

I GIVE THIS BOOK:1 star1 star1 star1 star

Saturday, December 20, 2014

Saving Grace (Hearthfire #1) by Michele Paige Holmes (Review)

From Whitney Award Winning Author, Michele Paige Holmes, comes SAVING GRACE, a regency romance from the Hearthfire Romance series:

After the death of her grandfather, the Duke of Salisbury, Grace Thatcher wants nothing more than to live quietly in the country with her younger siblings. Her father’s debts thwart those plans, and to protect her sister, Helen, Grace must marry a man of her father’s choosing.

As each suitor proves less than desirable, Grace comes up with clever schemes, causing each to reject her. While staying at the mysterious Sutherland Hall, a middle-of-the-night mishap sends Grace into the arms of a stranger, Nicholas Sutherland—and provides inspiration for her grandest plan yet—one that will leave her reputation in tatters yet free both her and Helen from all possibility of marriage.

Too late Grace regrets her rash actions when her father’s last choice, Mr. Samuel Preston, proves to be a gentleman and a friend. But Samuel is the sworn enemy of Nicholas Sutherland, the man responsible for her “ruin.” Now instead of being free, Grace is caught between two men—each with his own agenda.

I GIVE THIS BOOK:1 star1 star1 star1 star

Monday, December 15, 2014

Winter 2014-2015 COYER Reading Challenge

I'm signing up for the Winter 2014-2015 COYER Reading Challenge, hosted by Berls @ Fantasy is More Fun and Michelle @ Because Reading. The challenge runs from December 20th, 2014 to March 6th, 2015. Signups are open through January 25th, 2015.

The Rules

  • Read Your E-Reads! Every book you read must be in an electronic format – meaning E-Book or Audiobook. It’s okay to start a book before December 20th, but for it to count you must finish & review it during COYER.                                                    
  • The books must be FREE or NEARLY FREE! This includes library books, review books, tour books, NetGalley, Edelweiss, etc. What’s nearly free? Since it was brought to our attention that books cost different depending on your market, here’s the maximum price in the main markets. Also, since audiobooks are considerably expensive generally, we’re looking at the average price for an audiobook purchased with an Audible Credit. (In U.S. currency, the maximum for ebooks is $2.99 and audiobook is $16.00).                                                                                                       
  • Review & Link Reviews! Your review may be on your blog, Goodreads, Shelfari, Booklikes, etc. Link the review to the Review Linky (we will share this December 20th). We will randomly pick TWO review links to win a $10 gift card to Amazon or Barnes & Noble. All links must be entered by March 6, 2015 at 11:59 PM EST.


  • Read 30 books
  • Participate in at least 3 of the read-a-thons

If you'd like to join this reading challenge, go HERE.

Blogaholic Designs”=

Tuesday, December 2, 2014

The Big Book of American Trivia by Stephen J. Lang (Review)

Its an extravaganza of the trivia kind! Impress your friends (or stump them) with knowledge about all things American-geography, history, entertainment, people, culture, and quirky miscellany. More than 3,000 questions will fill up countless hours of fun as you learn fascinating facts about our country. The Big Book of American Trivia is perfect for party games, family gatherings, and vacations. A collection sure to please all the trivia fanatics you know!

{sample questions}

Q. What is the only state that borders only one state?
A. See page 15

Q. What city is only 90 miles from Havana, Cuba?
A. See page 313

Q. What famous patriotic song was written on the back of an envelope during the bombing of a fort?
A. See page 85

Q. What twentieth-century president was the first to be born in a hospital?
A. See page 299

I GIVE THIS BOOK:1 star1 star1 star1 star

Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Cinder & Ella by Kelly Oram (Review)

It’s been almost a year since eighteen-year-old Ella Rodriguez was in a car accident that left her crippled, scarred, and without a mother. After a very difficult recovery, she’s been uprooted across the country and forced into the custody of a father that abandoned her when she was a young child. If Ella wants to escape her father’s home and her awful new stepfamily, she must convince her doctors that she’s capable, both physically and emotionally, of living on her own. The problem is, she’s not ready yet. The only way she can think of to start healing is by reconnecting with the one person left in the world who’s ever meant anything to her—her anonymous Internet best friend, Cinder.

Hollywood sensation Brian Oliver has a reputation for being trouble. There’s major buzz around his performance in his upcoming film The Druid Prince, but his management team says he won’t make the transition from teen heartthrob to serious A-list actor unless he can prove he’s left his wild days behind and become a mature adult. In order to douse the flames on Brian’s bad-boy reputation, his management stages a fake engagement for him to his co-star Kaylee. Brian isn’t thrilled with the arrangement—or his fake fiancĂ©e—but decides he’ll suffer through it if it means he’ll get an Oscar nomination. Then a surprise email from an old Internet friend changes everything.

I GIVE THIS BOOK:1 star1 star1 star1 star1 star

Sunday, August 17, 2014

Sense and Sensibility: A Latter-day Tale by Rebecca H. Jamison (Review)

As if it wasn’t bad enough to be getting food from Church welfare, I had to meet one of the Ferreros—and a good-looking Ferrero, at that.

Elly Goodwin, a brilliant programmer, is so desperate for a job that she takes one from her ex-boyfriend—the same man who put her family out of business. Then she meets Ethan Ferrero, who seems too good to be true. But Elly is far too sensible to unexpectedly fall in love—especially with her ex’s brother-in-law.

But when Elly’s sister, Maren, dates the wrong guy, Elly must intercede before Maren’s passion clouds her common sense. Together, Elly and Maren must learn that a mixture of sense and sensibility is the perfect recipe for love.

Fans of Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility will love this modern retelling of the classic romance novel.

I GIVE THIS BOOK:1 star1 star1 star1 star

Friday, August 15, 2014

In Perfect Time by Sarah Sundin (Review)

Two hearts are about to learn the rhythm of love 

Bold, sophisticated, and coy, Army Air Force flight nurse Lt. Kay Jobson collects hearts wherever she flies, leaving men pining in airfields all across Europe. So how can ruggedly handsome C-47 pilot Lt. Roger Cooper be all but immune to her considerable charms? In fact, he seems to do everything he can to avoid her.

Still, as they cross the skies between Italy and southern France, evacuating the wounded and delivering paratroopers and supplies, every beat of their hearts draws them closer. Can they overcome the fears and misunderstandings of the past in order to take hold of the future?

Sarah Sundin seamlessly weaves together emotion, action, and sweet romance into a tale that transcends time and calls us to believe in the power of love.

I GIVE THIS BOOK:1 star1 star1 star1 star1 star

Tuesday, August 12, 2014

In Perfect Time A Kindle HDX Giveaway

Don't miss Sarah Sundin's hot-off-the-press novel, In Perfect Time. Publishers Weekly gives it an enthusiastic thumbs up: “Sundin excels at well-researched historical detail . . . with such accurate depictions of culture and setting that we are fully immersed in the times as well as in the story. The strength of relationships forged in war and the apprehension of God in times of trouble infuse this well-crafted novel with substance and light.”

Sarah is celebrating the release of her book with a fun giveaway!

One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A Kindle HDX
  • The Wings of the Nightingale Series (With Every Letter, On Distant Shores, and In Perfect Time)
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on August 24th. Winner will be announced August 25th at Sarah's blog.

Don't miss a moment of the fun; enter today and be sure to visit Sarah's blog on the 25th to see if you won! (Or better yet, subscribe to her blog and have the winner announcement delivered to your inbox!)

Blogaholic Designs”=

Saturday, July 19, 2014

Weekend Wrap-Up (#2)

Hosted by Christian Bookshelf Reviews
I'm participating in the BookTube-a-Thon and think I'm doing pretty well. I still have a little over a day left, but so far I've read 1,752 pages and finished 10 books! (Some are barely 100 pages, but I'm still counting them :D)

What I read last week:

(click on cover to see my review)

What I am currently reading:

What I hope to read this week:

What are you reading?

Blogaholic Designs”=